This course is for anyone new to Oregon workers’ compensation claims adjudication. Oregon law requires all new workers’ compensation claims examiners to obtain certification by successfully completing an examination that demonstrates their familiarity with pertinent statutes, administrative rules, and claims procedures.
Upon passage participants receive all documentation necessary to satisfy the Oregon rules and statutes governing claims examiner certification.
Certified examiners must also renew their certification every three years by documenting 24 hours of continuing education; certified adjusters can take this course to satisfy the renewal credits.
What does the course cover?
Students will study the most recent versions of
- The Basic Oregon Workers’ Compensation Certification Course Claims Manual text book
- Workers Compensation Law (ORS Chapter 656)
- Chapter 436 of Workers Compensation Division Administrative Rules (OAR Chapter 436).
The course consists of 9 lectures based upon reading assignments in the 13 textbook chapters, including a post-class discussion of study questions that students complete in advance for each class. Our instructors review and edit materials, if necessary, before the start of each course.
Why should I take this course?
Since its inception in 1991, hundreds of Oregon claims examiners have obtained their certification by completing this claims course and accompanying examination. Led by defense attorneys who exclusively defend Oregon worker’s compensation claims, students will not only understand the basics of Oregon statutes and administrative rules, but also the attorneys’ personal experiences in a clear and understandable format and lectures. Over 500 adjusters have become certified as a result of this course.
Each course consists of 10, three-hour sessions from 2:00 PM to 5:00 PM on Tuesdays and Thursdays unless otherwise noted:
- Spring Course: March 6, 8, 13, 15, 20, 22, 27, 29, April 3, 5 (exam on the last day)
Please register by Friday, February 16
- Summer Course: July 10, 12, 17, 19, 24, 26, 31, August 2, 7, 9 (exam on the last day)
Please register by Friday, June 22
8 registration spaces reserved – only 15 seats available per session
- Fall Course: October 2, 4, 9, 11, 16, 18, 23, 25, 30, November 1 (exam on the last day)
Please register by Friday, September 14
1 registration spaces reserved – only 15 seats available per session
Attendance: Students may not miss more than one of the first 8 class sessions to remain eligible to take the certification exam. Replays of recorded lectures will be available for course participants to make up missed classes.
What does it cost?
The course tuition is $525 per person, which includes the lecture fee, 300-page course textbook, study questions with our associate attorneys, a pre-test study session, the administration of the certification examination and all necessary documentation upon passage. The fee is payable in advance and is nonrefundable. We can now accept payment online as well as checks in advance of the first class.
Click here for additional information: Course Information Fact Sheet
Questions? Click here to email Scott Wolff, Marketing Director or call direct 503-452-7266.
|CLICK HERE TO REGISTER|
This course was previously led by Jerry Keene, founder of the Oregon Workers’ Compensation Institute. Jerry taught the course from 1991, when Oregon first began to require examiner certification, until his teaching retirement at the end of 2017.
According to OAR Chapter 436, Division 055 (effective January 1, 2017):
An insurer may renew a claims examiner’s certification upon verification that the claims examiner has completed 24 hours of training within the past three years. The 24 hours of training must include:
- Six hours relevant to case law;
- One hour related to the interactions with IME providers;
- Additional (general) training related to
a) medical case management;
b) communication skills;
c) claims processing skills related to OR claims
The Basic Oregon Workers’ Compensation Certification class may be taken to meet the above renewal requirements. Click here to read OAR 436, Division 055.
Course leaders are available to conduct on-site training sessions of this course. Contact Scott Wolff for more information and rates for an onsite course presentation.